Site icon

More Florida Keys Islands

There are 1,700 islands that make up the Florida Keys. Some of the Florida Keys islands you will travel on the Overseas Highway are:

Upper Florida Keys Islands: Key Largo – Plantation Key – Windley Key – Upper Matecumbe Key – Teatable Key – Lower Matecumbe Key

Middle Florida Keys Islands: Craig Key – Long Key – Conch Keys – Duck Key – Grassy Key – Crawl Key – Vaca Key – Boot Key

Lower Florida Keys Islands: Bahia Honda Key – Spanish Harbor Key – Big Pine Key – Little Torch Key – Middle Torch Key – Big Torch Key – Ramrod Key – Summerland Key – Cudjoe Key – Sugarloaf Key – Saddlebunch Keys – Boca Chica Key – Stock Island – Key West

Other Florida Keys Islands of note.
Upper Keys – Indian Key – Lignum Vitae Key – Shell Key – Rodriguez Key – Tavernier Key
Middle Keys – Boot Key – Pigeon Key  No Name Key
Lower Keys – Little Pine Key – Sand Key – Boca Grande Key.

While Looe Key no longer shows above water, having been eroded over the years, it is still a very active destination for diving so it is listed here with other real islands.

Almost 70 miles west of Key West lies a cluster of seven islands, composed of coral reefs and sand, called the Dry Tortugas. The main island is Garden Key where Fort Jefferson is, Loggerhead Key with a lighthouse, Bush Key, Long Key, Hospital Key, Middle Key and East Key.

Jim Clupper, the late Manager at the Islamorada branch of the Monroe County public libraries, produced his comprehensive publication, Keynames. Jim describes its scope, “The list which follows consists of an alphabetical compilation of every place name for an island or key in the Florida Keys…keys included begin to the north with Virginia Key in Biscayne Bay, and end with the westernmost of the Dry Tortugas Keys. Also included are those keys located in Florida Bay and Everglades National Park north to the (mainland) Monroe County line.” If you don’t have his book

Anne Layton Rice brought this database to the Internet – Key Names Gazetteer

Exit mobile version